2014 Cider has been Bottled!

Bottled the 2014 cider in a few sessions the last few days. As time is a bit more valuable these days I had to do things in stages. I cleaned bottles one evening,
the next morning I set my bottling station up and then in the evening I bottled the five and a half gallons of cider. Since it fermented for a total of four months the FG is 1.001, which makes for a dry, clean and crisp cider. The color is a very nice golden straw hue and preliminary tastes are good. This isn’t your store bought cider full of adjuncts and flavor additions, just apple cider and yeast. There is a Chardonnay taste at the end and I’m interested to see how this plays out after aging and carbonating in the bottle for a few months. I used five ounces of corn sugar for bottling in the hopes there is a bit more fizz to this batch than last year. The majority of this cider went into bomber bottles, which are perfect for summer days and cutting grass while enjoying a home brew cider.

IMG_0822

IMG_0821
Prost!

Leave a comment